This is the "Reference" page of the "Child Development Reference" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Child Development Reference  

Collection of relevant titles for the study of child development.
Last Updated: May 1, 2014 URL: http://gavilan.libguides.com/cdreference Print Guide RSS Updates

Reference Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Encyclopedias and Reference

Many texts in the Library are also available as e-books. Use the EBSCO search tool to find available e-books.

Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood - Paula S. Fass (Editor)
Call Number: HQ 767.84 E53 2003 Vols. 1-3 (Reference)
ISBN: 9780028657158
Publication Date: 2003-10-01
Describes childhood in specific historical periods and geographic regions. Explores the concept of childhood, from the treatment of children as miniature adults to the sheltered and protected child of the twenty-first-century developed world.

Growing Up - Gwen J. Broude
Call Number: HQ 767.84 B76 1995 (Reference)
ISBN: 0874367670
Publication Date: 1995-12-01
Looks at the interplay between local cultural variations and human development by comparing and contrasting beliefs and practices related to pregnancy, childbirth, and child rearing among the world's traditional societies.

Cover Art
Infancy in America - Hiram E. Fitzgerald (Editor); Alice S. Honig (Editor); Holly Brophy-Herb (Editor); Alice Sterling Honig (Editor)
Call Number: HQ 774 .I528 2008 Vols. 1-2 (Reference)
ISBN: 9781576072202
Publication Date: 2001-12-07
Discusses critical issues, important concepts and findings, and the individuals in the field who helped shape the popular and clinical study of infancy.

Parenting A to Z - David M. Brownstone; Irene M. Franck
Call Number: HQ 769 F717 1996 (Reference)
ISBN: 0062715984
Publication Date: 1996-12-18
Provides information on a wide range of topics affecting a child's physical, emotional, and social development. Includes resource material such as hotlines, helplines, voluntary and government organizations, and information sources.

Cover Art
The Child - Richard A. Shweder (Editor); Thomas R. Bidell (Editor); Anne C. Dailey (Editor); Suzanne D. Dixon (Editor); Peggy J. Miller (Editor); John Modell (Editor)
Call Number: HQ 767.84 C55 2009 (Reference)
ISBN: 9780226475394
Publication Date: 2009-09-15
Over 500 entries bring together contemporary research on childhood and adolescence from pediatrics, child psychology, childhood studies, education, history, law, anthropology, and other related areas.

 

Search EBSCOhost eBooks

Search EBSCOhost eBooks
Limit Your Results
 

E-book Reference

There are many more e-book titles available at EBSCOhost. To find more e-book titles, use the EBSCO search tool.

Cover Art
Blackwell Handbook of Early Childhood Development - Kathleen McCartney (Editor); Deborah Phillips (Editor); Novartis Foundation Symposium Staff
ISBN: 1405120738
Publication Date: 2006-02-17
Presents a comprehensive summary of research into child development from age two to seven.

Cover Art
Handbook of Life-Span Development - Karen L. Fingerman (Editor); Cynthia A. Berg (Editor); Jacqui Smith (Editor); Toni C. Antonucci (Editor)
ISBN: 9780826110794
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Addresses the biological, cognitive, and psychological development that occurs from infancy through old age, and how the sociocultural and institutional factors interface with these changes.

Cover Art
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development - Brian Hopkins (Editor); Ronald G. Barr (As told to); George F. Michel (As told to); Philippe Rochat (As told to)
ISBN: 0521651174
Publication Date: 2005-09-08
Covers topics ranging from neonatal development to education, encompassing pediatrics, neuroscience, theories and research methods, physical development, social development, cognitive development, psychopathology and parenting.

Cover Art
The SAGE Handbook of Child Development, Multiculturalism, and Media - Mesha L. Ellis; Joy Keiko Asamen; Gordon L. Berry
ISBN: 9781412949156
Publication Date: 2008-06-27
Explores the multicultural development of children, examining how socialization practices and media content construct and teach us about diverse cultures.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip