Websites selected by Gavilan Library faculty for those looking for health and medical information
Last Updated: Nov 7, 2016
- Medline / PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
A non-profit consumer health web site that has been in operation for approximately 20 years. NetWellness provides high quality information created and evaluated by medical and health professional faculty at Case Western Reserve University, The Ohio State University, University of Cincinnati
- Medline Plus
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.
- Choose My Plate
MyPlate, MyWins is designed to help American families find healthy eating solutions.
Get personalized nutrition and physical activity plans, and track your foods and activities.
- Spark People: Nutrition Tracker
Online tool to analyze your daily nutritional intake and create personalized meal and fitness plans. Also includes access to articles, recipes, and tips. You must create a free user name and password to use this tool.
- FitDay Diet Analysis
Online diet and fitness tracking tool.
- Hardin MD
from the Hardin Library for the Health Sciences, University of Iowa.
This online physician Locator helps you find a perfect match for your medical needs DoctorFinder provides you with basic professional information on virtually every licensed physician in the United States. This includes more than 814,000 doctors.
- American Hospital Directory
The American Hospital Directory® provides data and statistics about more than 6,000 hospitals nationwide.