Provided by Columbia University Libraries African Studies Department, this site contains a list of web resources related to the African American Diaspora.
Primary and secondary sources related to the African presence in Latin American countries.
Organization that aims to be a "resource center and cultural advocate for documentation and preservation of cultures, histories, and experiences of Afrodescendant people in the Americas and the Caribbean." Site includes a digital archive containing oral histories, digital learning, and more.
Throughout U.S. History, African Americans have played an integral part in the development and achievement of this country. Fold3 is now revealing a side of the African American story that few have seen before. View more than a million rare photos and documents.
This 6,000 page reference center is dedicated to providing information to the general public on African American history and the history of more than one billion people of African ancestry around the world.
Organization that provides resources, virtual exhibits, programs, advocacy and more in relation to those of African Caribbean descent.
The site includes profiles of great black heroes, as well as podcasts and videos.
This Web portal contains online exhibits and collections including audio, video, images, and teaching resources.
The Archives holds a wealth of material documenting the African American experience, and highlights these resources online, in programs, and through traditional and social media.
Provided by Calisphere, "this collection contains black and white photographs taken by an unknown photographer – most likely a delegate – to the 40th annual National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) Convention held in Los Angeles, California, from July 12-17, 1949."
The National Museum of African American History and Culture is the only national museum devoted exclusively to the documentation of African American life, history, and culture. To date, the Museum has collected more than 36,000 artifacts and includes digital collections.
Large collection of Freedman's Bureau records (mostly transcribed, not digitized) from Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, New York, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and Washington D.C. Also provides links to several other sites with Freedman's Bureau materials.
Search Engine that brings together hundreds of thousands digitized materials from over 1,000 libraries and archives across the country. Umbra Search celebrates the vital efforts of the individuals and institutions that have helped to preserve and make accessible online hundreds of thousands of pieces of African American history and culture, and we pay homage to the Umbra Society of the early 1960s, a renegade group of Black writers and poets who helped create the Black Arts Movement.
Digital collection available via USC, the collection contains oral histories, documents, newspapers and more.
Blog about the Asian American Movement, depicting the 40th Anniversary collection from the archives of the Asian Community Center in San Francisco.
"An authoritative, one-stop information resource and sociological exploration of the historical, demographic, political, and cultural issues that make up today's diverse Asian American community."
Digital exhibit created through Calisphere, the collection provides access to primary resources related to Asian American culture and history.
Historical newspapers published in the state of Hawaii, on the Library of Congress Chronicling America site.
"This tool invites us to see both the specificity of group-differentiated oppressions and their relationships to one another within racial capitalism."
Categories include: Asia Discovers America, Asians and the Making of America, World War II and Asian Americans, The Newest Immigrants
Provided by USC, this digital library collection contains primary documents, photos, reports and more in relation to Filipino Americans.
Provided by Calisphere, this collection contains "approximately 2,100 original items, including letters and other textual documents, photographs, diaries, scrapbooks, newsletters, art work, clothing and artifacts."
Part of the USC digital library collection, "this collection of photographs from the Hearst Collection of the Los Angeles Examiner in the USC Regional History Collection, documents the incarceration of Japanese Americans in California during World War II."
Provided by USC digital library collection, "the Korean American Digital Archive brings more than 13,000 pages of documents, over 1,900 photographs, and about 180 sound files together."
A resource guide for Maori speakers, created in support of the effort of the Maori people to revitalize their language. The site includes resources for those just learning Maori.
Provided by Calisphere, this collection "is an eclectic accumulation of thousands of miscellaneous items that document the life of Southeast Asian American communities. Here can be found information on a wide range of topics such as cultural events, pertinent issues of the day, organizations and businesses, student activities, local politics, health concerns, and family relations."
Established through UCLA, the website provides research information, journals, oral histories, and more in order to deepen research and disseminate knowledge about Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders.
Including dictionaries, books, newspapers and other resources in and about the Hawaiian language.
Established via UC Santa Barbara, the site "provides a structured and briefly annotated guide to online resources, emphasizing both primary and secondary (or theoretical) resources.
"The Bracero History Archive collects and makes available the oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964. Millions of Mexican agricultural workers crossed the border under the program to work in more than half of the states in America."
Provided by Calisphere, this digital collection features photos, essays, posters, murals and more in relation to California Hispanic Americans.
Provided by Calisphere, this collection contains "Slides and other materials relating to the San Diego artists' collective, co-founded in 1970 by Chicano poet Alurista and artist Victor Ochoa. Known as a center of indigenismo (indigenism) during the Aztlán phase of Chicano art in the early 1970s."
Provided by the Civil Rights and Labor History Consortium, this site provides a timeline, photos, oral histories, maps, and more in relation to the Chicano/a movement that took place in Washington.
"El Teatro Campesino is a Chicano theatre company in California. Performing in both English and Spanish, El Teatro Campesino was founded in 1965 as the cultural arm of the United Farm Workers and the Chicano Movement ."
Presented by UC San Diego Library, this site provides primary sources in relation to the United Farm Worker movement, and includes photos, oral histories, essays, videos, and more.
Provided by Calisphere, this collection contains "administrative records, programs, subject files, correspondence, clippings, slides, photographs, serigraphs, posters, silkscreen prints, ephemera and other creative materials documenting activities of the San Francisco Bay Area Chicano cultural arts center."
This Web portal is a collaborative project of the Library of Congress and others, it contains exhibits, collections, audio, images, and more.
Digital collection provided by Calisphere, this collection contains correspondence, sketchbooks, events and more.
A database featuring photographs and documents assembled from twelve collections of the Urban Archives of the University Library Special Collections and Archives. Funded as part of the Hispanics-Serving Institutions Grant of the State of California, these materials capture the history of Latino and Chicana/o people and culture in Southern California. These collections feature the arts, labor and immigration as important parts of the historical fabric of this community.
An array of resources provided by the Library of Congress, includes timelines, artwork, articles, recordings, photographs and more.
The Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum join in paying tribute to the generations of Hispanic Americans who have positively influenced and enriched our nation and society.
Provided by UCLA, the collection contains over 100,000 songs celebrating North America’s Spanish-language musical heritage.
Part of the Smithsonian network of museums, the site includes online exhibits, research, collections, and educational programs.
Provides information on a range of topics related to Hispanic/Latino Americans.
Provided by the University of Texas at Arliington, the project "focuses on one hundred seventy-six oral history interviews with Tejano and Tejana leaders from across Texas."
Provided by Calisphere, this collection contains "select digitized photographs and documents from the papers of Chicano author, poet, and educator Tomás Rivera."
The Hispanic Research Collection primarily consists of materials related to Arte Público Press and the archival collections amassed through their Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage project. The press is the largest and longest-lasting Latino publishing house in the United States and a winner of numerous awards, including recognitions from the White House and the National Endowment for the Arts. The Hispanic Collections also contain a Mexico Documents Collection with manuscript materials dating from 1570-1898.
Provided by the Digital Public Library of America, the site contains primary source information in regards to Native American Boarding Schools.
Website containing an array of web resources related to Native Americans on a variety of topics.
Provided through the University of Washington, the digital archive provides photos, essays, documents, and more.
Provided by Calisphere, this digital collection contains photographs of Californian Native American baskets made in the 19th and 20th centuries.
Directory of North American Indigenous Portals. Includes maps and population information. Can search by country, language, and tribes.
"Indian Country Today is an independent nonprofit, multimedia news enterprise. Our digital platform covers the Indigenous world, including American Indians and Alaska Natives. Indian Country Today is also a public media broadcast carried via public television stations, including FNX: First Nations Experience and Arizona PBS World channel."
A part of the Library of Congress American Memory special presentation project, the site "comprises 709 entries with links to the related map or maps for each entry." Users can browse by date, tribe, or state.
Developed by University of Saskatchewan, the Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) is a database of full-text electronic resources such as articles, e-books, theses, government publications, videos, oral histories, and digitized archival documents and photographs. The iPortal content has a primary focus on Indigenous peoples of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.
Part of the Smithsonian network of museums, the website provides online collections, archives, research and more to explore Native American culture.
List of resources related to Native Americans, Indigenous, and Aboriginal peoples provided by UC Santa Barbara.
Goals: to encourage linguistic research on American Indian languages, to foster the intergenerational transfer of language knowledge in Native American communities, and to develop a sustained and productive relationship between American Indian linguistic scholarship and the needs and aspirations of Native American people.
Provided by Calisphere, this photograph collection "focuses on those members of the Central Coast community who are of California Indian heritage."
Visualization tool that helps identify hundreds of tribes in an area.
Created by a small non-profit organization dedicated to the survival of Native American languages, particularly through the use of Internet technology, the site is a compendium of online materials about more than 800 indigenous languages of the Western Hemisphere and the people that speak them.
The Society for the Study of the Indigenous Languages of the Americas (SSILA) was founded in December 1981 as the international scholarly organization representing the linguistic study of the Indigenous languages of the Americas, and was incorporated in 1997.
A brief history of the indigenous population of the Victor Valley. Includes information on specific tribes, the Serrano, Vanyume and Chemehuevi.
Survey of California and Other Indian Languages is an archive and research center in the Department of Linguistics, University of California, Berkeley, supporting the documentation, analysis, preservation, and revitalization of the indigenous languages of the Americas.
