Every time you look at a web page, there are some key questions you should be asking questions to decide whether or not it's reliable and credible. These can be grouped into major areas: authority, accuracy, objectivity, currency and coverage.
Check out this Cornell University library website about evaluating web pages.
|
Child and family Webguide Developed by Tufts University, this site offers five main categories of information: family/parenting, education/learning, typical child development, health/mental health, and resources/recreation. The first four categories provide research-based information. |
|
Child care & early education research connections Promotes high quality research in child care and early education and the use of that research in policy making |
|
The children's nutrition research center This is a cooperative project sponsored by Baylor College of Medicine, Texas Children's Hospital and the U.S. Dept. of Agriculture Research Service. |
|
Childstats.gov - America's children 2005 - highlights The Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics provides detailed information on the well-being of children and families. Topics include population and family characteristics, economic security, health, behavior, social environment, and education |
|
Cognitive Behavior Therapy: Thinking positive Includes treating adolescents with CBT http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=1920052 |
|
Database of award-wnning children’s literature Search a database of children’s books by reading age, genre, setting, ethnicity, award type and more. |
|
Dyslexia Association Provides basic information on dyslexia, as well as tips for parents and adolescents |
|
Epilepsy: Information for teens Offers information on epilepsy for teens, including support groups, a community forum, and personal stories from teens with epilepsy. |
|
KidsGrowth child health Developed by pediatricians for parents and includes information on behavioral problems, stages of development, growth charts and children’s medical conditions. http://www.kidsgrowth.com/index2.cfm
|
|
Mental health issues for kids and teens |
|
The Music and science information computer archive Sponsored by the University of California, Irvine, this site includes all issues of MuSICA Research Notes, a newsletter which analyzes research on music and behavior, including brain mechanisms, child development, perception, learning, and other related topics. |
|
National dissemination center for children with disabilities Provides research-based information on effective practices for children with disabilities |
|
Parenting adolescents Extensive responses to questions about parenting teens and pre-teens answered by licensed clinical social workers |
|
SafeKids.Com Created by a technology jouranlist, this site provides information on keeping kids safe on the Internet. |
|
Society for research in child development Scholarly site which promotes multidisciplinary research in the field of child development |
|
Teen Health This site focuses on teens with comprehensive information on puberty, mental health, sex, nutrition, and body image. |